Joanne Cys appointed Head of School: Art, Architecture and Design

Associate Professor Joanne Cys has been appointed to the role of UniSA’s Head of School: Art, Architecture and Design, commencing in January 2017.

She will take on the role following the retirement of Professor Mads Gaardboe who has been with UniSA since 2004 when he began as Head of the Louis Laybourne Smith School of Architecture and Design.


Pro Vice Chancellor and Vice President of the Division of Education, Arts & Social Sciences (EASS) Professor Denise Meredyth has congratulated Assoc Prof Cys on her appointment.

“Assoc Prof Cys has held a range of senior positions at the University where she has developed deep institutional knowledge, providing a solid foundation for the position of Head of School,” Prof Meredyth says.

“Her academic leadership experience in research and teaching and learning give her a unique understanding of the quality and performance imperatives that the School of Art, Architecture and Design must attain in the coming years in an increasingly competitive environment.”

Assoc Prof Cys has been the Division of EASS Dean: Academic since 2013 and has a breadth of experience on national and international industry peak bodies.

This month, she is being inducted into the Australian Design Hall of Fame recognising her eminent contributions to design research and education.