About the School

The School of Art, Architecture and Design offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and research degrees across disciplines including contemporary art, architecture and interior architecture, product and industrial design, communication design, illustration and animation, and urban and regional planning.

Graduates from the School of Art, Architecture and Design are equipped to push creative boundaries, drive industry development, and shape the future of multidisciplinary art, design, architecture, urban and regional planning and allied industries.

Artists, architects, designers, and planners are the makers of our shared future. Through access to unique world-class facilities including distinctive purpose-built studios and workshops, the South Australian School of Art Gallery and Australia’s only architecture museum, our graduates start on the front foot, ready to embark on global careers with fresh eyes and transformative potential.

Kaurna building, City West

Education with a rich history

Born from a history of innovative tradition, the School of Art, Architecture and Design was created in 2009 through the merger of the South Australian School of Art and the Louis Laybourne Smith School of Architecture and Design to forge a creative hub with strong links to research, industry and community.

The South Australian School of Art (SASA) is one of the oldest art schools in Australia. It was originally established as the Adelaide School of Arts in 1856 when it was inaugurated as part of the South Australian Society of Arts, an organisation that included most of the major cultural institutions now situated along Adelaide’s North Terrace: the State Library of South Australia, South Australian Museum, and the Art Gallery of South Australia.

The Louis Laybourne Smith School of Architecture and Design was named for the late South Australian architect and educator who in 1906 established one of the first architectural courses at the South Australian School of Mines, later to become the South Australian Institute of Technology (SAIT). Through its history, the expansion of the School's programs embraced all major skills relevant to the built environment including Town Planning (the first course of its kind in Australia), Building Technology, Interior Design and Landscape Architecture.

In 1991, the Institute of Technology and the South Australian College of Advanced Education joined to form the University of South Australia, with the City West campus located in the heart of Adelaide’s cultural precinct now home to the School’s creative interdisciplinary activities.